[PS4] Streets Of Rage 4: Mr. X Nightmare DLC Review

by ThaRaven403

Streets of Rage 4 is back with more content with the Mr. X Nightmare DLC. Find out if the extra content is worth your time in our Streets of Rage 4: Mr. X Nightmare DLC review!

Are you ready for more Streets of Rage? Then it’s time to check out the Mr. X Nightmare DLC! One of the first things you’ll notice when starting a new playthrough is that the game now includes three new characters to play with. The first one is Max Thunder, one of the playable characters from Streets of Rage 2 that was a boss in this game. The next one on the list is Shiva, who’s also been a boss fight since the second entry in the series, only playable as a secret character in the third game. The final one is a new playable character, Estel, the boss you encounter on the fourth and seventh stages of the game.

Streets Of Rage 4: Mr. X Nightmare DLC Review - 1

Apart from the new characters, the DLC also adds a new Survival Mode to the game. It is narrated in the sense that it is Dr. Zan who created a machine to replicate Mr. X’s mind from his brain, and it is in that simulator that you enter to fight endless waves of enemies. Each stage will have a different setup occasionally with hazards, and you’ll have to fight the enemies until the wave is complete. Once you finish the wave, you’ll be presented with two perks to choose from to augment your character’s abilities. For example, fire damage can be added to your last combo hit or when you attack by holding the Square button. Every four waves, you’ll have a boss fight which will give you a choice between three perks when completed.

Streets Of Rage 4: Mr. X Nightmare DLC Review - 2

Streets of Rage 4 is already a great game with a lot of replay value, and this DLC adds even more, which is great if you wanted to give the game another spin. The three characters are great to play with. I was especially happy to play with the fast-paced Shiva and have another go at the Story Mode. As for the Survival mode, it’s another mode that adds even more replay value to the game. The fact that completing waves with each character can unlock new moves for them adds another aspect to justify playing with all characters. There are also new weapons and enemies that you can encounter, so the DLC doesn’t just only add a new mode, it brings a bit of variety with it.

Streets Of Rage 4: Mr. X Nightmare DLC Review - 3

And to motivate players even more… the DLC also has trophies! You’ll first have to go through Story mode with all three new characters to grab some new Silver trophies. After this, most of your time will be spent in Survival Mode, as you’ll need to reach the 30th wave there, but also play it with all characters in order to unlock all their special moves. In total, the DLC will grant you five Silver trophies and 3 Bronze trophies if you manage to complete everything.

Streets Of Rage 4: Mr. X Nightmare DLC Review - 4

Mr. X Nightmare is a solid DLC for an already great game. It’s great to see that much love given to the franchise’s revival. And with a price tag of $7.99, if you loved the main Streets of Rage 4 experience, and all the work and love from DotEmu, Lizarcube, and Guard Crush Games that has gone into this excellent revival, then this DLC is a definite must-buy.

This Streets Of Rage 4: Mr. X Nightmare DLC review is based on a PlayStation 4 copy provided by DotEMu.

Related Posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More